top of page
Search

Convincing vines to be trees

This year I decided to try to grow my squashes vertically. It seems like a great idea - better pollination, less disease, easier management, and much less space. I was so impressed with some folks YouTube who've managed this (check out this video from Next Level Gardening).



So how's it going so far? The zucchini plant is coming along but it is fighting this concept every step of the way.


If you look at this photo closely, you'll see a nice zucchini near the base of the plant. You may also notice a lot of twine and string in my attempt to make this happen.








Here's the patty pan squash - it seems a bit more willing to consider this option.


One of the advantages to doing this is that the blossoms are much easier for the pollinators to get to. Given all the bees I saw on these yesterday, it's very successful at doing this.








On a related note... yesterday, on my walk, I saw some trumpet vines being grown as "trees". Check these out. At least these trumpet vines are far away from anyone's gutters. If you really want a trumpet vine, this is the way to go. I almost like them this way. Almost.








21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page