top of page
Search

Loath it or love it. Trumpet Vine.


If there's one plant in our garden that I truly dislike, it's the trumpet vine. It came with the house and I've been considering getting rid of it most days for about 15 years now. Here's why I dislike it - and why I keep it anyway.



A reason to loath the plant. This plant spreads everywhere via its roots and that requires me to constantly monitor for outbreaks (including at our neighbors place). It grows in crevices and between pavers, it attaches to neighbors houses, it climbs into the gutters and onto the house, it pulls down the utility lines. Get the picture?



Some photos below from the battle. Left to right: (a) left-over vine that grew to the top of a neighbor house. Cutting it off at the bottom killed it but didn't bring it down; (b) an imminent gutter attack, (c) a sidewalk outbreak,; and (d) attacking another neighbors house. Outbreaks are everywhere.




Another reason to loath the plant. The flowers are sticky and attract ants. I could live with that, but the flowers hang down over the walkway. So anytime I walk by it or prune it back (like, say, out of the gutter), I somehow end up with ANTS IN MY HAIR. Need I say more?




On the other hand...



A reason to love the plant Critters like it. Hummingbirds love the nectar of the flowers. Robins build nests in it. I don't have a hummingbird feeder because I'm rotten at keeping them full. So the trumpet vine is my hummingbird feeder. That's worth a lot.


Another reason to love the plant. It frames a perfect, shady, private corner on our front porch - creating my favorite spot of the whole house. It's good for reading, having cocktails, meeting with friends, or taking a little nap.




So for now the vine gets to stay but I suspect my own debate for its future will continue. At least until I see the next hummingbird.


Then again, maybe the trumpet vine should have a long chat with the roses. Those of us with tiny gardens only have space for plants that behave as required.

37 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page